Welcome
    Further Assistance
 Installation
    Windows Download
    Mac Download
    Linux Download
    Initial Setup and Configuration
 Configuration
    Application Settings
       Account
       Network Settings
       Bandwidth Limiting
    Online Disks
       Online Disk Settings
       Sync Folders
       Network Drive
       Previous Versions
    Automatic Backups
       Backup Jobs
       Schedule
       What to Backup
       Backup Options (Legacy)
       Backup Options (Backup Vault)
 Using My Secure Backup
    Activity Monitor
    Initiating Manual Backups
    Backup Preview
    Canceling Backups in Progress
    Disabling Backups
    Restoring Backups
    Cached Data
    Logs
    Consistency Checks
    Debug Log
    Errors and Warnings
    ConnectDisconnect Online Disks
 Tutorials
    Getting Started
 Troubleshooting
    Connection Troubleshooting
    IIS Port 80 Workarounds
    Kaspersky Support
 Information
    Open Source
    Release Notes
HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual
Previous Versions

Page Information
Last Updated: 7/29/2008 9:20:37 AM


Home > Configuration > Online Disks > Previous Versions

The My Secure Backup can be configured to keep an archive of previous versions of files that are changed or deleted. By default this previous version archive is only kept for Automatic Backup files, however you can also enable it for your mapped drive as well. Enabling previous versions will use more space on your drive, and will also slow backups and uploads slightly as a copy is made of the previous version prior to uploading the new version.

Previous versions are kept in a special directory on within My Secure Backup. To restore a previous version you can use the built-in restore feature. Previous versions can be restored to your local drive or to their original My Secure Backup location.

You can configure My Secure Backup to delete previous versions after a period of time. The length of time is calculated from the time the file was updated or deleted, so if you have My Secure Backup configured to remove previous versions after 60 days, all files that were updated or deleted more than 60 days ago will be purged from the previous version archive and can no longer be recovered.

  • Keep copies of changed files: When enabled, My Secure Backup will keep copies of the previous versions of files when you modify the file or upload a new file with the same name.
     
  • Keep copies of deleted files: When enabled, My Secure Backup will keep a copy of files that are deleted either manually or during backup cleanup.
     
  • Keep previous versions for: When “Automatic Backup files only” is selected (the default setting) previous versions of changed and deleted files will only be kept for files backed up using the Automatic Backup feature. Files that are manually uploaded or deleted via the mapped drive will not have previous versions kept. When “All Files” is selected previous versions will be kept for both automatic backup files and any files uploaded directly via the mapped drive.
     
  • Don't keep previous versions for files over: When enabled, files larger than the specified size will not be archived when modified or deleted.
     
  • Don't keep certain types of files: When enabled, files with the selected types will not be archived when modified or deleted.
     
  • Don't keep files in certain folders: When enabled, files under the selected folders will not be archived when modified or deleted.
     
  • Remove previous versions after: When enabled, previous versions will be deleted once they are older than the specified number of days. For example, if the setting is 30 days, a file that is deleted on April 1 will be kept in the version archive until at least May 1, after which it may be purged. Previous versions are cleaned up once a week automatically. When this setting is disabled, previous versions are never deleted and will continue to take up space. You can manually remove previous versions by deleting the files from your “~VersionArchive” folder.
     
  • Keep at least: When enabled, allows you to select a minimum number of versions to keep regardless of the file's age.
     
  • Keep at most: When enabled, allows you to select a maximum number of versions to keep regardless of the file's age.