Welcome
      Further Assistance
  Installation
      Windows Download
      Mac Download
      Linux Download
      Initial Setup and Configuration
  Configuration
      Application Settings
         Account
         Network Settings
         Bandwidth Limiting
      Online Disks
         Online Disk Settings
         Sync Folders
         Network Drive
         Previous Versions
      Automatic Backups
         Backup Jobs
         Schedule
         What to Backup
         Backup Options (Legacy)
         Backup Options (Backup Vault)
  Using My Secure Backup
      Activity Monitor
      Initiating Manual Backups
      Backup Preview
      Canceling Backups in Progress
      Disabling Backups
      Restoring Backups
      Cached Data
      Logs
      Consistency Checks
      Debug Log
      Errors and Warnings
      ConnectDisconnect Online Disks
  Tutorials
      Getting Started
  Troubleshooting
      Connection Troubleshooting
      IIS Port 80 Workarounds
      Kaspersky Support
  Information
      Open Source
      Release Notes
HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual HelpConsole 2008 - mysecurebackupmanual HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual
Cached Data

Page Information
Last Updated: 12/8/2009 3:38:19 PM


Home > Using My Secure Backup > Cached Data

The cache directory is where files are stored during background upload and after upload for quick access should you need to open the file from the My Secure Backup drive. You may want to change the default location of the cache directory to a different drive with more space available for example, as a large cache reduces the need to re-download content. If your cache fills up during a large upload, you may notice that background uploads from the operating system to the cache slow significantly (to 32kbps or less). This is normal and as space is freed in the cache from completed uploads the cache upload will return to normal speed.

The default location for My Secure Backup's cache for each platform is listed below. You can change the cache location and set a maximum size for the local cache in the My Secure Backup configuration.

  • Windows Vista and higher: C:\ProgramData\mysecurebackup
  • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\mysecurebackup
     
  • Mac: ~/Library/Caches/mysecurebackup/cache
     
  • Linux: ./cache

    Expire Cached Data: This will reset the expiration timeout on any cached files and directories. The next time a file or directory is accessed My Secure Backup will re-verify that it has not been modified on the server. If you are accessing the same online disk from multiple machines at the same time, there will be a delay of 2-4 minutes before changes made on one machine appear on the other machine due to caching. You can reduce this delay by expiring cached data when you know changes have occurred that are not yet visible.

    Remove Cached Directories: This will delete the the cached directory structure of your online disk and allow it to be rebuilt should it become out of sync.  This can occur when using My Secure Backup with multiple computers.  Your cached files will not be removed as part of this process.

    Remove Cached Files: This will delete any cached files. It should not be needed in most circumstances, but can free space in your cache and remove any invalid directory listings should they occur. This only affects your cache of the data and does not remove any actual data. In addition, any files stored in the cache for background upload are not removed.

    To manage the cached data of a selected online disk, choose the Cached Data option from the applicable online disk via the dropdown menu at on the top navigation bar of the Activity Monitor.

    You will then choose expire your cached data, or remove your cached directories/files.