Welcome
    Further Assistance
 Installation
    Windows Download
    Mac Download
    Linux Download
    Initial Setup and Configuration
 Configuration
    Application Settings
       Account
       Network Settings
       Bandwidth Limiting
    Online Disks
       Online Disk Settings
       Sync Folders
       Network Drive
       Previous Versions
    Automatic Backups
       Backup Jobs
       Schedule
       What to Backup
       Backup Options (Legacy)
       Backup Options (Backup Vault)
 Using My Secure Backup
    Activity Monitor
    Initiating Manual Backups
    Backup Preview
    Canceling Backups in Progress
    Disabling Backups
    Restoring Backups
    Cached Data
    Logs
    Consistency Checks
    Debug Log
    Errors and Warnings
    ConnectDisconnect Online Disks
 Tutorials
    Getting Started
 Troubleshooting
    Connection Troubleshooting
    IIS Port 80 Workarounds
    Kaspersky Support
 Information
    Open Source
    Release Notes
HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual HelpConsole 2008 - MySecureBackupManual
Backup Options (Backup Vault)

Page Information
Last Updated: 12/8/2009 3:35:06 PM


Home > Configuration > Automatic Backups > Backup Options (Backup Vault)

To give you the most control over your automatic backups, these additional options will allow you to customize your specific backup job.

  • Backup in-use files (NTFS formatted drives only): For NTFS drives, My Secure Backup has the ability to backup files that are currently in use by the computer.  For Mac and Linux, locked files are already able to be backed up.
     
  • Ignore timezone shifts when detecting changed files:  For FAT file systems, this feature will assume files modified within even hour increments from the previous version are due to time zone shifts.  If you enable this option, there is a small potential that a file update may be overlooked if you happen to update a file on increments of exactly one hour from the recent version.  If you do not have a FAT file system, this option should not be selected.
      
  • Backup Retention:  Your backup retention settings determine how long files that you delete or update locally are kept in your Backup Vault.  If you uncheck the option, your old backups will be kept indefinitely.

  • Backup Reporting
    • Backup reporting allows you to view summaries of backup jobs on the web, as well as receive e-mail alerts and RSS updates.